Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Ranking For Adults: What It Means To Get Promoted

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu is one of the most popular martial arts in the world. However, its belt system is quite confusing for the sport’s newcomers. It follows a standardized and structured belt progression system, unlike martial arts such as Taekwondo and Karate, which give belt on a more subjective basis.

The International Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Federation [IBJJF] is the body that sets rules regarding belt promotions based on the practitioner’s age and experience. With that said, let’s look at the Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu belt system.

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Belt promotion system

Jiu-Jitsu belts are given out based on skills and how long the participant has been training. From the lowest-ranked to highest ranked, here is an order the belt follows:

White Belt

The White belt is the first belt that any participant in Jiu-Jitsu receives. The rank is held by any practitioner new to Jiu-Jitsu and has no prerequisite. White belt focuses on learning how to survive.

Blue Belt

This is the second adult rank in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. At the Blue Belt level, participants gain a wide breadth of technical knowledge and undertake several hours of mat time to learn how to implement these moves efficiently. In this rank, the participant learns numerous techniques.

Purple Belt

This is the intermediate adult ranking in Brazil Jiu-Jitsu. In this rank, the participant has gained extensive knowledge. The IBJJF requires practitioners to remain on a purple belt for at least 18 months before they achieve a brown belt.

Brown Belt

It is the final belt before black. It requires a minimum of five years of dedicated training to achieve. It is usually thought of as a time for refining techniques.

Black Belt

In Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, the black belt rank indicates an expert level as well as a practical skill. But it’s worth mentioning that earning the black belt rank is one of the most difficult goals for BJJ practitioners. The IBJJF requires that for one to be eligible for a black belt, they must be 19 years old and have spent at least one year as a brown belt.

Red-Black Belt [Coral belt]

This belt is awarded when a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu belt reaches the seventh degree. Coral belts are highly experienced practitioners. The IBJJF requires at least 7 years of training and teaching at the black-red belt level.

Red-White Belt

This belt is awarded to a participant who has achieved the rank of 8th degree black belt. The IBJJF requires a minimum of 10 years of teaching and training at the red-white belt level.

Red Belt

This is reserved for participants who have achieved 9th and 10th degree grandmaster’s belts. It can only be achieved with at least 10 years of training. The 10th degree have only been awarded to the founders of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu - Johan Machado Academy In Allen, TX
Johan Machado Jiu-Jitsu Academy In Allen, TX